Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Palm Warbler - Yardbrid #52

The started gloomy, drizzly and chilly - definitely a fall day, and not one of the nice ones.  A bad day for insects, but the garden was full of birds.  There continue to be very high numbers of Purple Finches hanging around with their sweet bubbling chatter; and a steady showing of ruby-crowned kinglets.  

But the star of the show today was this Palm Warbler who placed himself directly at eye level, about 12 feet away .  Typical of warblers, he flitted about and was gone in under 30 seconds, but that was all the time I needed to get off a few quick shots.  This was my favorite because it shows his brilliant colors.  This species is found mainly in the eastern US and Canada with a very population in the coastal western states.  This bird is somewhat unusual in that it shows more yellow than typical at this time of year.  

The weather forecast for the remainder of this week is chilly with several possible frosts.  This means that the conditions are far from ideal to release Monarch # 224.  So, I am sending him on a road trip to N. Carolina!  Our friends who own the farm around the corner are headed to Raleigh on Wednesday and they are taking their last chrysalis to let it emerge there.  They've happily agreed to take #224 and release him there where the temperatures and flight conditions will be much better.  And, Raleigh is right on the migration route, so it should work out perfectly.  I'm feeding him a honey/water solution today and tomorrow so he can bulk up, and I'll deliver him to his "courier" tomorrow.  I'm feeling very relieved as I was quite concerned about his ability to survive and migrate in this weather. 

Hubs is off to California for the balance of the week to attend a conference.  His flight hasn't even left yet and already I miss him.  So, it will be the cats, the ancient Bichon, SIL, and I holding down the fort this week.  

Liking the new Sigma lens on the D850.  I lose a little speed, but it still performs very well.  I may put the speedlight on board this afternoon and try a few shots with that.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.