lovelife209

By mindful_life

Mono Monday MM247 Play

Monday’s are becoming my practice day with my friend Vicky and tonight we had our first ‘play’ through of something Christmas carol duets! It was so much fun! We played wrong notes, good notes, beautiful harmonies and some questionable! But the best thing was we had a real giggle while we did it!

Vicky finds it challenging because she isn’t used to being the accompaniment part - playing the violin you would usually get the tune! But with our duets the tune tends to be equal between the parts!! Being a cellist of course it is something you get used to!!

The great news is we potentially have our first gig to aim for too! At the end of November we are going to play at a church before and after their service when they have their Christmas service!! This gives us both something to work towards - or should I say ‘play’ towards!!

After she had had to go home I got my Elgar Concerto out and had a practice of the first few lines - I have to say I think it sounded ok! A lot of play in the future and I hope it will be fabulous!

I thought this quote was quote lovely when I read it today and so I wanted to incorporate it here:

“We don’t stop playing because we grow old. We grow old because we stop playing.” George Bernard Shaw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.