Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Hard up for a row....

I couldn’t stand it any longer not being out on the water… it’s much too unseasonably beautiful!    But we’ve put the boats away and it’s some effort to get them out so I decided to go for a row in the old Livingston dinghy which we have had since the 70s and our first sailboat…it sits on the dock all the time as an emergency boat in case we need something quick…the kids have used it, but not I for a long time.   Well, it floated just fine… all I wanted was to row around (It rows badly!) with my camera.    The best 
wildlife picture I got was this young deer foraging for food on the rocks  in the bay…first I wondered why that tan rock was moving..I think he was where I know there is a patch of sea asparagus.  Then he climbed the steep bank for more munchies.  Altho the fire danger its very low now as we have had some rain, it’s still much too dry and summer-like for this time of year.  The new norm?  We do see the deer on our end of the island as we always have some water in our pond.  So far.   It is a worry.  The tv news is talking about drought conditions.


Couldn’t decide whether to blip the deer or the boat so am putting the boat on my other journal as I liked the image.    But here it is (extra) in 1982, not exactly new then , with 13 yo son Eric (who is about to turn 50!) and a friend on a sailing trip, Eric with a crab in a trap, in some bay with similar rocks…. (where are their life jackets??)  the name “Dawn Treader” painted on the side is long gone ... anyone recognize that?   I had such a good time looking at old photos I’ve digitized from slides…I must print some out.   sometime.  

Edit: I just replaced this photo.  It was turned into a smaller MUCH too oversharpened looking photo  ..a mystery.  Has that happened to anyone else?  OK now as original. (WED)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.