Blipblog

By blipblog

The Conversation - Episode 2

Joe vs. Tucson Jim

In my minds eye, you're sitting in a wooden hut on top of a rocky red desert hill, surrounded by cacti. Your faithful four-legged companion is roaming around outside, and your trusty motorised steed is fuelled up, ready to whisk you off to any corner of the globe at the drop of a hat. How wide of the mark am I?

You're not far off the mark, Joe, you should add psychic to your list of skills. But I'm not too sure about the wooden hut thing, I do like my creature comforts. And as far as my four-legged companion, Rio, he is truly my best friend and all around buddy. My motorcycle, a 2001 Roadstar with 81,000 miles on it, is always gassed and ready for a high milage trip. Though I'm not to sure about the 'any corner of the globe' part, seems I have trouble navigating water with the bike. But, the western hemisphere is always fair game.

This is a question Flick asked me, but I'd like to pass it on: which three photographers have had the greatest influence on you?

Ansel Adams would be on top of the list. Even as a child I was impressed with his photography.

John Corney, a contemporary American landscape photographer, who has a great passion for color.

Georgia O'Keeffe, not a photographer. But a painter who has had a tremendous influence on my photography, the way she depicts the Southwest United States.

What's your set up? Camera? Computer? Software?

The camera I use now is a Canon 40D with a battery/wrist grip, and the glass I use the most is a Canon EFS 55-250, a wonderful lens. I currently have four Macintosh computers. But my main squeeze is a Mac Dual 1.0 GHz PowerPC G4 Quicksilver, with 1.5Gb memory and 1TB storage. And for photo software I rely on iPhoto and Photoshop Elements, and for fixing those over saturated images of mine, I depend on Noise Ninja to work on the grain.

What was your first Apple?

In 1990 I was given a used 512k Mac. How did anybody get anything accomplished on those things? Ever since then I've been hooked on Apple/Macintosh computers. I've owned 7 of them, all wonderful machines.

What was your first camera?

My parents gave me, and I still have it, an Ansco Pioneer box camera in 1956, but that was then. I started on The Blip with a Canon A95, point and shoot. That camera worked really well, for a while. But soon my photography required a more versatile camera, hence the Canon 40D.

What are your ten favourite blips of your own? Why?

This is a difficult task. All of my photographs on Blipfoto are like my children. How do you choose? Well, I did make some choices, though most were based on the emotional feel at the time I took the picture. You sure I can't pick a hundred or so?

4th Of July - I love the colors, lines and shapes in the wind blown flag. It makes me very proud to be an American when I look at this photograph.

Sunset Revealed - What I felt when I witnessed the real thing, makes it one of my favorite sunset images.

Vulture - I spent weeks stalking these birds, without success. But on this day, this big old guy just hung above me and my camera. Suspended on the wind so I could capture his image.

Sunset Ridge - I think I like this because it has a painterly feel to it. Painting was my first love, and you've got to go with your strengths, and painting wasn't one of mine.

Glass Clouds - Arguably, one of my first successful photographs on Blipfoto. The reflections of the clouds, the angle, and the colors make me happy.

God's Love - This sunset is a combination of every sunset I've ever seen. It was just amazing to stand there and watch this thing happen. Plus I really like the title I gave it.

Greater Roadrunner At Sunset - I couldn't believe my luck at getting this image. The sunset light, the shy bird, and the beautiful saguaro skeleton, this combination makes it one of my favorites.

Lightning Over Push Ridge - It seems that most of my photos involve my emotions. This one is no exception. There was so much electricity that night, pun intended. This was a lucky capture of a double lightning strike.

Sunbeams In The Raindrops - Almost a black and white photograph. And very graphic in nature. I was amazed at the drama captured in the image.

Terminus - I really like my images to be minimal and graphic. So I believe this photograph embodies those qualities. Simple, colorful and powerful.

What are your ten favourite blips by others? Why?

Again, how do you pick just 10 photographs out of 100's or more. No particular order here, just some images that have stayed with me for various reasons. And if you don't see yours listed, it's because I just plain forgot to add it. And I could only choose 10!!!

Sometimes you just gotta laugh, Somethings Missing's rabbit man sure did it for me. Every time I happen upon it I start laughing. Thank you, Miss!

Goodbye's black and white images are all wonderful, but Portrait has stayed with me since the moment I saw it. Hauntingly beautiful, so symbolic of what's wrong in the world today.

And talk about a photograph sticking in you head, Camera-Shy's Self-Portraits is definitely stuck in my head. Weird and beautiful.

Fall is one of my all time favorites. My jaw dropped when I first saw it. Colors and composition got an A+ from me. Thanks, Life through the Lens!

Probably everyone will agree, Riding High, by Jan Berghuis. So detailed, dramatic and powerful. And down right scary, too!

And for someone so young, Sarah has got her photographic eye together. to be the girl that has to feel the silence, is just a peek at her talent.

Talk about every kids dream, Yeda Arscott captured it well in My Super Hero. What a fun and fantastic photograph to look at.

Want to see a bug, Slow Motion is one of the most beautiful bug images I've ever had the pleasure to look at. You did well Lucian, great color and composition.

This one represents my progression from my first posting on up to Blip #421. Great take on an old theme. Great work 42, a little bit of the Blip Evolution is in all of us Blippers.

Horsin' Around, gosh, I can't remember why this one was on my list of memorable photographs. Oh well, thanks anyway The Life of Lauren. ;o)

What does Blipfoto mean to you? How does it fit into your life?

It is truly a community of photographers, I guess I should say it is a family of photographers. I feel that as long as you post photographs, fairly consistently, and comment on others images, you will get that very warm feeling of belonging to that family.

Prior to reaching my 365th posting, The Blip was my life, for one whole year. I work so hard at making photographs that pleased me, I was thinking, sleeping, and breathing Blipfoto. That includes taking pictures, traveling to locations, learning software, and printing. Then I had to decide which photo to post that night, out of 100-400 images I'd taken that day, now that is difficult to do. But now I'm much more relaxed not having a deadline to meet everyday, and I can concentrate on the art of photography. Though I still post about every other day, it's a joy now and not a 'job'.

You're one of the few photographers on Blip who actively encourages constructive criticism from other contributors. Do you receive it and, if so, is it helpful?

I found that when I asked for constructive criticism, most people left complementary comments, which was wonderful. But that did not help me understand what could be done to improve the photograph. Something I learned in art school was the critique, to give it and receive it. Both aspects are difficult to do. First, it takes an understanding that the person wanting the critique, really wants it. You can't worry about hurting the other persons feeling, this is how they learn about their art. Second, if you want to improve your work, you have to learn to ask for criticism and accept it. The critiquing of art, is done to help, not to hurt. When I do receive constructive criticism, I try to learn form it. Sometimes, I've gone back into a photograph and reworked it, and made a better piece of art from that criticism. So I urge all artists to ask for critiques, and give constructive criticism when it is asked for.

On a similar note, how much do you think Blipfoto is about good photography?

I do believe that Blipfoto encourages good photography. The Blippers who care about a quality image are encouraged to improve their photographic skills and artistic awareness. This is done through peer involvement, such as views, comments, ratings, and pages like spotlight, rated, and popular. I'm sure that the Blip community would be much, much smaller if it wasn't for these aspects that promote photographic improvement.

As the person who brought Blipfoto into being, one of the most rewarding things is seeing the way it helps people grow and develop in all sorts of ways. Has it done that for you? If so, what's the single most important thing Blipfoto has taught you?

First and foremost, photographic discipline. To produce a quality image, one a day, every day, on that day!

Also, Blipfoto has taught me that taking the picture is just the first step in the creative process. For me, the final image is what matters. What I have created through the computer and its software, is what I experienced, in my minds eye, at the moment I took the photograph, emotions and all. To be pleased with my final image is what matters, the true beauty that I have witnessed, and now I can give it to others.

Your faith seems to be a major feature of your life. Is this to do with your upbringing? Or is it something you found later in life?

Yes, to both your questions. I was brought up Catholic, but as a child I never embraced it. So at 18, I left it behind. About 4 years ago, I went through what can best be described as a very painful and devastating series of events. I looked for answers and help, but found none. Then I said to myself, "Self, lets give this God/Jesus thing a try, it might help and it sure can't hurt!" My life and person, literally was changed for the better from that instant on. My troubles were no longer a burden and I began to change my way of living life. The old Biker Jim was a thing of the past and I really like the new Biker Jim. Thanks for asking, Joe.

Bush or Obama?

Never discuss religion, politics, or sex. Well we sure blew it on the first one. Lets not push our luck on the second one. And I really hope you don't ask questions about the third!

I'll just say, that Bush helped keep America safe from terrorism for almost 8 years, thanks Bush. And a lot of people are hoping that Obama will bring this country, and the world, what it needs, thanks in advance Obama.

Like you, I'm a man who likes to cultivate his facial hair. You seem to have a rather fine crop - how much time do you spend a week grooming? Any tips for the recently-bearded?

Ha, Joe, was the question meant to read, "How much time do you spend a year grooming?". I will scissor a wild hair every now and then. Plus I run a wide toothed comb through it every morning and after a long bike ride, you know, to get the bugs out! Bottom line, wild and wooly, the ladies love it, well some of them do anyway. ;o)

If you and your camera could be teleported to anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?

Iceland! No kidding, a gorgeous place, photographically speaking.

--------------------------------------------

Thanks, Jim - excellent and insightful stuff. We'll be checking back in two weeks to see who you've been interrogating...

--------------------------------------------

Wondering what The Conversation is? Read all about it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.