Angst

This is the aftermath of the angst, Jasper-jam nonchalant in the washing basket.

Let's deal with the angst part.

When I get home from work Jasper is always waiting inside, or he appears immediately through the cat door.

Not today.

I opened doors, called, changed, put a few things away, called again.....hmmm.

I went out the front and shook the treat tin. Nothing. Then I heard a faint meow but to begin with I couldn't place where it was coming from.

I kept calling and the little cries led me across the road and into a patch of tussocks, hebes and other native shrubs. For 20 minutes I crawled through tussocks and scratchy shrubs. A young woman joined me and we were puzzled.

I was beginning to wonder how he was caught when we heard a scrambling above us. He was stuck in a tree!

We both thought the meow was from low down. The trees are small on the scale of trees, only 3-4 m high. But Jasper would have scampered up like a rat up a drain pipe, then he would found himself stuck.

We were able to coax him down and for a few short moments he was scared and overwhelmed.

Normal service has resumed, he's back to his usual over confident and know it all self. I'm glad and relieved, the little bugger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.