V & A, Dundee

We made a trip to Dundee today to visit the V&A gallery which opened about a month ago. I had pre booked for the Ocean Liners exhibition back in June and we had booked lunch in the restaurant a couple of days ago.

The coach journey from Aberdeen to Dundee did not take much longer than I could have managed in the car, and the walk from the coach terminal to the V&A only took about ten minutes.

The building is very impressive from the outside. Inside it is smaller than I imagined. The exhibition area is all on one floor, looking at the building from outside I had imagined it would have had at least two floors.

It was as well we had booked lunch, there would have been a lengthy wait otherwise. There are two exhibition halls. One is free and there was a very, very long queue, the other which is paid and probably has to be pre-booked.

When I made the booking I did not realised our visit coincided with the school half term holiday. The gallery was very busy. Lunch was pleasant, we had a table next to the window and overlooking the Discovery (see extra).

A nice day out, I suppose coming from Aberdeen on public transport it is a fairly long day, though the coach is comfortable. It was raining when we left Aberdeen, the rain cleared up as we went south and the rest of the day was dry though cloudy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.