Far away from dry land*

What a glorious day! Wall to wall sunshine. I've worked hard in the garden, more clearing ready for the winter. Himself is feeling a little better and was up for a walk late this afternoon. We went up across the hills to the stone circle then back down to the strand - a lovely pinkish silvery light in the bay. This house has a very fine swimming spot though I've never seen them in the water.

Last night's film - Les Gardiennes was superb. Slow paced, ravishingly shot and beautifully acted, it told the very realistic story of one French family's experience of the First World War, mainly through the eyes of the women. Recommended. 

And I'm impressed to find I'm reading the novel that has just been nominated Booker Prize winner. It's been described as incredibly original and I would entirely agree with that and I'm loving it - not an easy read in any sense but powerful and minutely observed. 

* and today is the 30th anniversary of Fisherman's Blues Such a mine of information :/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.