Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Casey and his son Jaxxton

Casey is my eldest grandchild, Jaxxton's father. Jaxxton is the little brother of Haven and Haze. Born July 23, 2018. 

These are my wishes for all the great-grandchildren, and for all children on the planet: May they be safe. May they live with peace. May they value kindness and compassion above material things. May the arc of the moral universe finally bend toward justice in their lifetimes.

Even if none of that happens, even if all of that is impossible, given the circumstances of our lives and the time in which we live, wishing it and envisioning it comforts me. That vision tells me where to focus my energy for the rest of the time I have. That vision will not be made manifest from wishing alone. It requires action from each of us. Holding the vision embodied in that wish tells me where to direct my actions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.