Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Carlos Diaz, Artisan

Still here, after all these years.

I took a break from family to do a little gift-buying this morning. This skilled silversmith had been creating silver jewelry in Tucson for nearly a decade back in the 60s when I was a university student here. I admired his silversmithing back then but couldn’t afford to buy any of it. To my great surprise and delight, he is STILL in business, still doing the work himself, creating his pieces more artfully than ever. His website tells more about him. I enjoyed looking at all his work, most of which is far beyond my means (the movie star Elizabeth Taylor was one of his clients), but I didn't leave empty-handed.

In the evening I babysat for Raiden so his parents could have their first date since the day he was born. Saul was a little worried that I might not know how to change a diaper. Laughing, I assured him I’ve had plenty of quite recent practice. 

Tomorrow is my last day here, and we have a grand adventure planned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.