If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Squirrel - thinking!

Knowing that a lady in our Red Squirrel group has "her" squirrels trusting enough to come to an open window we are trying to get ours more trusting.  Their habit is to visit the feeder, grab a nut and run away for a minute or two.

So when I saw one this afternoon I went out and sat in the chair while it was away.  It soon appeared galloping along the neighbours fence.  Up into the Crab Apple tree and .........   STOP!   "He wasn't there when I got the last nut!   Was he?"

Then we entered a watching me watching him situation for a minute or two.  Next he moved into another position.  It became obvious he wasn't going to pick up the nerve to move the two or three feet from the tree to the feeder so I made a tactical withdrawal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.