Sunset at the Bridges

I was travelling into Edinburgh yesterday afternoon, and as I had noted from  the internet net earlier that there was going to be a fairly clear sunlit sky at sunset I determined to make the the best use of this opportunity. I have seen any number of images of the Forth Bridges at sunset over the years but never had an opportunity to catch them myself so I headed out to North Queensferry. Unfortunately the new Queens Crossing is rather obscured by the old Forth Road Crossing but as the sun was setting in the west there was not much I could do about this. Fortunately there were one or two patches of cloud about to catch the glow of the sun as it set. There is a very convenient car park just underneath the rail bridge which gives a good view of the two road bridges. Then it was just a matter of waiting for the sun to drop towards the horizon and reduce sufficiently in brightness for me to catch the sun's rays whilst avoiding flare in the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.