Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Ode to a Skylark, aka Blip One Hundred

"Hail to thee, blithe Spirit!
Bird thou never wert -
That from Heaven or near it
Pourest thy full heart
In profuse strains of unpremeditated art."
- from Ode to a Skylark, Percy Bysshe Shelley

This skylark is pictured near the top on Banks Peninsula, high above Reynolds Valley, with Lake Ellesmere and the Southern Alps in the distance.

Today's trip was to photograph the two massive cruise ships anchored in Akaroa Harbour, the Sea Princess and Dawn Princess. Travelling along Bossu road with the sunroof open I was amazed by the amount of skylark calls on the still, warm air.Whilst the ships were impressive, the chorus in the sunshine was of a more natural beauty.

I was absolutely stoked when I stopped to take some shots across towards the Lake towards the mountains when what should pop into view but this 'Blithe Spirit'. I had to make my way through some spiky spaniard plants to get the capture, but it was worth it.

I love the way these birds spiral into the air, singing their hearts out. As Shelley's poem so beautifully describes, the joy of life is so evident in a Skylark's calls. And like the aesthete Shelley himself, I only wish my art could capture just half of the beauty of these birds.

Incidentally today's is blip #100. What a privilege and pleasure it's been to share my view on the world with so many new pairs of eyes! Thanks to all for their comments, I look forward to the next hundred and more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.