The Finished Job

Yesterday I reported how boredom had pushed me into ignoring that "low grade infection" that was slowing me down (and that's putting it mildly) and getting onto removing the bushes, flowers,  grass and assorted weeds that were growing up through the disintegrating trellis.  I'm not sure if I managed the work because the infection had gone, or if the infection went because I worked hard and sweated it away, working until darkness fell. Or perhaps it was sitting in front of a fire and watching the first two episodes of Doctor Who.  Anyway, I felt fine today and carried on where I left off yesterday.
I was helped hugely by a sunny day, one of those days when it's warm as long as you stay in the sun, and very chilly when you move into the shade. Fortunately the work site was in the sun!
The path of rocks we had laid many years ago had sunk into the ground and mostly disappeared into weeds, so they were all dug up, a weed barrier put down, and the rocks embedded in gravel. That path will be around for a few years now! I got the job finished.
Next spring the new veranda will stretch across the earth bed to the edge of the house. It may also come further out from the house, covering most my new path but that's life.
I'm very grateful to have finished that job, that my infection seems to have gone, leaving me healthy once more, and that one of Jan's blip contacts sent her a recipe for a "White Lady" cocktail, which she made and which I've just drunk.
Some days a record shot is required, even if it's not the most exciting or inspiring photo I've put up on blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.