Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

First Frost

We had our first light frost last night and the little birds were all bundled up in their down coats when I went out this morning.  Amazingly, quite a few of the flowers in the gardens survived so by mid-afternoon, the pollinators were all hard at work.  I even had a single female Monarch on the buddliea this afternoon - that was a surprise!  Not sure if she will make it to Mexico, but at least she is getting plenty to eat in our garden.

Today's image is a male American Goldfinch, with just the faintest bits of bright yellow feathers left from his summer plumage.  And, if you look closely, you can see traces of his trademark black cap.  He was fluffed up to over twice his normal size, making him look like the cutest little ball of fluff as he stared me down from a branch in the garden.  Had to be my blip.  The runner up is a beautiful Purple Finch - HERE on FLickr

Hubs is on a flight back from California as I write this.  I'll be so very happy to have him home again!  Meanwhile, I'm counting down the days until I leave for Costa Rica.  Emails and messages have been flying between we six Blippers who are going - comparing notes lenses, rain gear, desiccant packs, tripods, lighting and all manner of other "important" details.  Very little discussion of clothing - I think we are all viewing that as something we'll jam into our bags at the last minute, around all of the camera gear.  

Happy Friday, and hoping everyone has a good weekend.  Our weekend will be largely spent working out in the yard/garden getting things ready for winter...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.