Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Brownsea Island

I can't believe I've never been to Brownsea Island before (come to think of it, I've never even been to Poole, which is where you get the ferry from).  But a group of us went today.  It was not a blipmeet, though it did happen to be organised by blipper Trevsastar - and what a star to have organised such a brilliant outing, thank you, Trev.

And of course the point of going was to blip the red squirrels, who are so busy collecting food for the winter right now that they are pretty well fearless of people.  This one let me get close but didn't like me disturbing it's foraging so threw nuts down the tree and chattered angrily.  For this reason I'm entering it for SillySaturday (very kindly hosted by Admirer).  There's another image in Extras where s/he is looking pretty cute too.

We also saw a sika deer, who took remarkably little notice of us and came right up close.  Apparently they swim across from Arne, the next island Actually I've just been told Arne is part of the mainland - thank you AH14 ;)).  Again, a this time slightly rubbish image in Extras.

I shall certainly be going there again.  Possibly this week if the weather's good because I'm told the island shuts for the winter at the end of next weekend  :((

That's me for today.  Hope your Saturday's been a blast  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.