NellieD

By NellieD

Science Spectacular

Today I was at the Science Spectacular event at the Manchester Science Festival.

We took all our knitted and crocheted phage and bacteria and three of us from my group went along to help out with the craft activities with the children.

I'm exhausted and we helped a continuous stream of children (from 11 am until 4 pm) make pipe cleaner phage - I don't ever want to see another pipe cleaner!

All our bacteria was on the table so the newly made phage could pick a bacteria to fight off. I finished my e coli, it's the big beige blob at the bottom left with the tentacles! The pink phage with stripy legs was the first one I helped a young girl to make and I thought she did a fantastic job.

It's a really wonderful event with other 40 interactive stalls for children where they can hold moon rocks, create a mini tornado, test which chocolate is the strongest, milk a cow and so many other demonstrations to spark their imagination and curiosity. The room opposite our phagecraft asked the question 'can you walk on custard?'.

When science is fun and interactive, children listen and ask questions.
It would be amazing to think that some of the children there today will go on to become scientists, doctors and inventors in the future.

Quote for today:
Play is the highest form of research.
- Albert Einstein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.