Fan Man

Not exactly filling the frame but adding a little something to this shot, I feel, taken in my local café, Cilantro, in Midan Mesahah, Cairo.

I will forever associate this place, and its predecessor place across the narrow street, with writing my book on my experiences in this country in the aftermath of the revolution. It's almost impossible to believe that just a few short years ago, we used to brace ourselves to run across the square in encroaching darkness to beat the curfew and with gunmen always in the area, as they had a predilection to shoot up the nearby university campus.

Today, all is quiet and although there is more writing to be done, this time it is speeches for a client on their core essence words of trust, creativity and connections. I have the raw material from my interviews with her and now need to shape them into edited, polished items. I'm against another clock, not the curfew one but a client deadline, so let’s see what the time pressure does for me in my particular 'news room' that you see before you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.