Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Kemah Bob: Guilty Feminist

It would be fair to say that I’m an enthusiastic podcast listener. In fact, I worry that I bore my friends and loved-ones with my over-use of the words, “I was listening to a podcast the other day and...” or “It’s funny you should say that because I heard someone on a podcast the other day saying something very similar/the exact opposite...” or “Well, according to so-and-so on the such-and-such podcast...” or “You really should listen to the latest episode of Podcast X, Y or Z... you’d love it!”

I love that podcasting is a comparatively democratic and accessible medium; accessible to most of us as listeners but also as producers and presenters. I love the ability it gives me to curate my own personal radio station which I can take with me wherever I am. And I love the people and things it introduces me to.

One of the staples of my weekly podcast diet is ‘The Guilty Feminist’, “in which we explore our noble goals as 21st-century feminists and the hypocrisies and insecurities which undermine them” http://guiltyfeminist.com/episodes/

All the 120 or so episodes to date have been co-hosted by comedian, author, film-maker, and much more, Deborah Frances-White - of whom I’m a big fan. So, when I heard that an episode was due to be recorded at the Liverpool Playhouse today, I snapped up a ticket!

Sadly, this was to be the first ever episode which Deborah was unable to co-host, as she had to be over in Wales promoting her first feature film, ‘Say My Name’ at the Cardiff Film Festival.

Happily, the show was co-hosted by two other Guilty Feminist stalwarts, Irish comedian Alison Spittle http://alisonspittle.com and today’s Blip subject, American comedian Kemah Bob http://kemahsvoice.com (I particularly enjoyed her description of her hair colour as “LGBTeal”) and it provided the usual mixture of comedy, discussion, chaos and admissions of feminist fallibility in the opening ‘I’m a feminist but...’ section.

I look forward to the final, edited version popping up amongst my downloads in the near future!

Meantime, here’s a great song by another Guilty Feminist regular, the wonderful Grace Petrie... ‘Black Tie’ made me cry the first time I heard it, so loudly did it resonate! https://youtube.com/watch?v=mzU7aIk1dGI

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.