Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Tom Robinson - Power in the Darkness

I’ve written a couple of times in this journal about how Tom Robinson is one of the single biggest influences on my life, so I won’t restate all that here (you can read it here www.blipfoto.com/entry/2421744662944416256 and here www.blipfoto.com/entry/2119868173435013395 should you wish to).

If Tom’s a big personal influence, then the Tom Robinson Band’s album ‘Power in the Darkness’ has a legitimate claim to be the most significant record in my collection. This year marks its 40th anniversary and, in celebration, Tom’s taken it out on the road with his current band, playing it in full with only the occasional tweak to the lyrics to reflect contemporary realities. As he says, “Rhodes Boyson and Mary Whitehouse hardly represent a clear and present danger these days”, so they’ve been replaced by “Rees-Mogg and Johnson” in ‘Ain’t Gonna Take It’. The whole ‘spoken word’ section of the title track has also been completely, and rather brilliantly, overhauled. Overall, it’s depressing how pertinent most of the album remains...

“Bigots on the backlash. Divided we fall.”

“Fascists marching on the high street. Carving up the Welfare State.”

I bought it with my pocket money in 1978, the year it came out. I was 12. And it’s been one of the constants in my life for the past 40 years, travelling with me wherever I’ve been. So it was rather a special moment to get the sleeve of that original vinyl album signed by Tom tonight at the Music Room.

The setlist (see below) followed the album track list, with some inevitable encores. I sang my heart out all the way through, as did most of the audience - and I only narrowly restrained myself from playing air-guitar...

Tom, now (unbelievably) aged 68, was clearly touched by the audience response and recalled how it was almost 40 years to the day since he was banned for life by the Liverpool Empire for having inadvertently incited a riot!

He’s still got what it takes! (See also the Extra photos)

Up Against the Wall
Grey Cortina
Too Good to Be True
Ain't Gonna Take It
Long Hot Summer
The Winter of '79
Man You Never Saw
Better Decide Which Side You're On
You Gotta Survive
Power in the Darkness

1st Encore

Martin
(Sing If You're) Glad to Be Gay
2-4-6-8 Motorway / Alright Now / Here Comes the Sun

2nd Encore

War Baby

Here’s ‘Ain’t Gonna Take It’ from back in the day... www.youtube.com/watch?v=0u6yOiHfOWw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.