Finished!

Dear Diary,

I finished my illuminated "L".  I had to do a wee modification to the original design as I messed up the gold leaf in the oval shape.  I had planned to add two tiny bees but had to use a butterfly to cover up the "oops".  I added two larger bees below and I actually like the result better than my original idea.  I call that a "happy accident"!

Gold leaf work is terribly difficult to do well.  It is the first time I've used it.  When I did this sort of project with my students we used gold paint.  Over all I am pleased with the finished illumination which includes Scottish thistle and heather.  I begin week 3 of my course today and I'm really loving it.  I recommend on-line classes.  It is a great, and free, way to stay a life-long learner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.