lovelife209

By mindful_life

Sunday Cycle

This morning started pretty slowly as nobody seemed very enthused to do very much! I went out for a short run and when I got back my son suggested we go on a bike ride. It has been a while since we have been on a bike ride as my daughter badly sprained her ankle 7 weeks ago and is only just really able to do it safely without risking any further injury!!

So we got the bikes out, pumped up the tyres and off we went! We didn't have to go too far to get to this beautiful lake.  The was one fisherman there and it was so peaceful and serene.  I loved the reflections in the photographs I took and the sky was nearly cloudless! Our second stop was at the end of a railway line nearby and we were lucky enough to see a steam train arrive, change the front to the back and then leave (see extra).

Afterwards we headed home and I felt very refreshed! 

I have watched a couple more videos on the mindfulness education summit that were very interesting!

My daughter has been keen to get her paints out this weekend so we cleared a space in the kitchen and she is currently painting with her oil paints.  She has always liked being creative and it is great that she shows an interest in being creative rather than wanting to be on technology. I am keen to give some painting a go so I may well join her for a bit!!!

I loved being outdoors today and one concept in the mindfulness course I have been doing it to try and enjoy nature - smell the roses so to speak.  It is a reminder that there is so much beauty right in front of us, all around us, to be appreciated and soaked up.  So if you are feeling a little blue, or anxious or overwhelmed, just take a few moments to go outside and enjoy what is there.

"Some old fashioned things like fresh air and sunshine are hard to beat." Laua Ingalls Wilder

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.