Just a Moment

My plan to visit my good friends Bob and Zoe in the Lakes this evening and to combine it with a run in the fells had been put to one side with the wet weather, but mid morning I just checked the forecast one more time and there was the tantalising hope of a bit of cloud lift and a bit of light breaking through so a change of gear and after the last over of the cricket I was packed and ready for an overnight trip to the most beautiful county on planet earth.

I found myself parked up by 1:30, and after nearly causing more than one road incident as I changed into running attire I hit the slopes, a pull up to Heron Pike via Stone Arthur and then a loop and down. Slowly beginning to trust my super grippy shoes on descent. Stopping was decidedly chilly, a bit underdressed higher up where a sprinkling of the white stuff should have been a hint, I left the warmer stuff in the bag and legged it down.

I took a few shots, one or two technically better than this, but this one has my heart, a moment that stopped me and made me glad that I'd made the effort and reminded me of the existence of beauty and grace when my body was struggling.

"i will lift my eyes to the hills from where comes my help"psalm 121.

Meanwhilst on the cricket front, the drama unfolded, no one dared to believe that KP and the Mont-ster would do their stuff(the narratives of their stories twist and turn and soar once more).Still could go either way but a dramatic completion tomorrow whatever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.