Friday Foto

By drmackem

A Reclining Henry Moore

We have a family wedding in 3 weeks and Linda said she needed a new dress (I thought the one she wore for the last wedding was nice, but what do I know). She asked if I'd come and "help", so off to Leeds for the morning. I was worn out after 5minutes and retreated to the coffee shop having agreed to meet up an hour or two later when the list of possibles was down to single figures.

After coffee I went up to Leeds Art Gallery to look at the entries for the Northern Art Prize, I was particularly taken with Richard Rigg's entries which made me stop, think and smile. I was politely told photography wasn't allowed.

10 years ago today we left for a year's sabbatical in New Zealand, I remember early December still a bit disorientated by the sudden change in season and subtle cultural changes heading off to Wellington to get my professional registration certified. Arriving early for my appointment I went to Te Papa Museum to take in some Maori cultural heritage. I ended up in an exhibition which had a visiting display of Henry Moore Sculuptures, I remember being the strongly reminded of the shapes of the hills and dales in Yorkshire which made me briefly a little home sick.

This blip picture is outside the Leeds Art Gallery, an installation dating back to the early 80's when I was a student there.

So back to the shops, having been slightly alarmed at some of the prices of dresses that wouldn't survive a wet and windy walk up a decent hill in the dales, I said I liked all the dresses that were walked out for my evaluation. We settled on 2, I encouraged her to buy both(hence cunningly avoiding another clothes shopping expedition for at least 12months), and they were both sensible prices. So the dance had been danced, and we were both happy, and I'm now going to lie down for a short while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.