NellieD

By NellieD

That won't keep the rain out!

A busy day at the food bank again today! There was another huge delivery from the Real Junk Food project, food that would have gone to landfill had they not rescued it. We also had re-arrange the rooms to start getting ready for all Christmas deliveries that will soon start to appear. 

I have volunteered at the Christmas distribution day for the last two years, but will certainly have more of an insight into it this year. Everyone that comes at Christmas has their usual food allocation but then starters, mains and dessert for a Christmas Day dinner - along with treats. Every woman also gets a new pair of pyjamas and a gift set, and depending on how many children they have, up to 7 presents per child. For some, it will be the only presents the children get at Christmas.

My book club donated over a hundred books the first year and I will always remember seeing one lady jumping up and down clutching a copy of the Diary of a Wimpy Kid. It was the exact title her son had asked for and the fact that she was able to give him the perfect Christmas present - the one book he wanted - obviously meant so much to her. I was a 'runner' the first year - helping people to the bus stop with their bags - and this lady was telling me how thrilled she was to be able to give the book to her son as she was going to have to save up to buy it. I don't have to think twice about buying a book if I wanted one but for some, it's just not possible.

Last year, I was 'floor manager' and had my fingers in all the pies (so to speak), my role again this year.

I didn't have a moment to consider what to blip today but on my walk to the food bank I happened to pause to let a delivery guy pass in front of me. As I glanced up, I noticed these holes/skylights in the roof of the leisure centre and thought they framed the blue sky and the trees beautifully.

Quote for today:
The poor we shall always have with us, but why the hungry?
- John van Hengel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.