Teaching an Old Dog new tricks....

I'm one of those that like to be correct and right so the other day I made a few comments on tire standards in America and so, while I was looking at my new tires on the truck, I didn't notice any speed rating so I called the shop and asked... I learned a lot about the new tire standards... 

I was correct on the now old standard of a 65 mph speed rating for semi truck tires which was causing many tire blowouts leading to many wrecks as the speed limit in a few states go as high as 85 mph and yes that's for trucks too. I was told about 5 years ago or so the new standard wasa 75 mph tire as most companies govern their trucks at 72 mph or less. This of course has now lowered the blowout wrecks but many buy tires they can afford or they don't know / don't care about the speed rating.

I also found out you can buy tires that are rated for 87 mph or more but they are uncommon in most states as the speed limits for trucks overall is 75 mph or less. Even more interesting to me was the tires they took off my truck, were 65 mph rated and that the company now uses the standard 75 mph tire as most of the companies trucks now are governed 68 mph. My truck is governed at 65 mph because the two states I run, that's the maximum speed limit. 60 mph for Washington and 65 mph in Oregon. (mostly eastern Oregon)

Headed back to Hermiston Oregon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.