Grevillea

Seeing as how Walking Wombat is hosting the Tiny Tuesday challenge once again, an Australian native seemed to be in order. Seeing as how WW's partner, CCN, has just gotten home from the hospital, this little protea is for her. And seeing as how it is almost Halloween, the fact that it is also known as a 'Spider Plant' seems appropriate. 

There are a lot of varieties of Grevillea and even more of the larger category of Proteas and we have several different ones in our own garden. Many of the plants that seem to do best here are either South African or Australian natives....with a border of tropical plants around the house!

I learned all about proteas because our six leucodendrons are dying one by one and I was trying to figure out why. I always thought they were the most bombproof plants we had. OilMan and I are going to have to dig around underneath one and see if something is eating the roots or the irrigation pipes or diverting the water somewhere else. All have happened here, although I don't think that is the problem. 

I have done very little else today...where does the time go? I've now ripped out an entire sweater because I just couldn't face going on with it. It had been something of a struggle from the beginning and I just could not figure out how to do the sleeves. I just did what I should have done in the first place and knit a proper swatch, washed and rinsed it and am now waiting for it to dry so I can count the stitches. Then I'll try to figure out what to do with all that wool....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.