BlipCommunity

By BlipCommunity

A Life in Service of Others

These remarks were collected by Michele (aka Alsacienne) in a conversation with Diane Cusick (aka DCAfrica)


What would you like people to know about you?


I grew up on a farm on the north coast of Ireland near Ballycastle with my parents and 2 brothers and 2 sisters .  From a very young age I told my mother I was going to go and work with young children in Africa!  Following my schooling and college years, I still had that passion, and as a Christian I decided to pursue the dream.  Living in rural Ireland I had never seen an African and I was so excited when 2 ladies from Malawi came to study at university there and I got to know them. During my year long course at Belfast Bible College, I had an opportunity to visit Malawi and I visited all over the country looking for an opportunity to serve. Near the end of the trip, I visited Zomba Theological College (ZTC) and was offered a job in the Women’s ministry department. ZTC was an interdenominational college and the male ministry students brought their wives and children with them to college.

I then moved to Zomba in September 1995 where I stayed for 10 years teaching women and running the Pre-school.  I had no knowledge of Early Childhood Development and went for a year to Johannesburg and did a course on Montessori.  Returning to Zomba, I then trained the teachers (using a mixture of Montessori materials and locally available materials (rubbish to you!).

In 2005, I decided I need to move on as I had done my job there – teachers were now empowered to carry on the work…so I left! I was invited to work in the north of Malawi in Mzuzu with the Church of Central Africa Presbyterian (CCAP) as their Early Childhood Co-ordinator.

Then I helped the church to set up a programme of Early Childhood Development (ECD) mainly in rural communities– I had 22 trainers working in various parts of the north and when I left in 2015, we had over 500 Early Childhood Centres operating. My focus of course is sustainability which is why in many of my photos you see children using rubbish as play materials! 

I was invited to go and work for the same church (CCAP) in Zambia and am now based in Lusaka.  Its quite different working and living in Zambia.  City life is not really me, but I am getting used to it. We have ECD centres in Primary schools, Community Schools and some which meet in the church building.  My job there is to train the teachers, the church leaders and the community about the importance of play in Early Childhood and to set up a play-based programme for the church using locally available materials !   It’s an exciting challenge and I love it!! 

How did you get started with photography?


I have always been an arty person and on my 21stbirthday my parents bought me a small camera – I don’t remember much about it other than it was red and of course it used film!!  I loved taking pictures of scenery in Ireland and of course family!

How did you get into Blipfoto?


I was in the north of Malawi at the time and actually stumbled upon the late Paul Hutchings (ASG) photos of Afghanistan.  His pictures were so real and so breath-taking that I began to follow his story and ended up joining Blipfoto.  Steve Hughes (Stevehughes15) greatly encouraged me and so I decided to try and post a photo a day and I am still going!!

What interests you about the theme/series of photographs you are doing?


I love life and I love living things – nature and people. My photos are just of everyday life, especially those I took in Malawi and now in Zambia I take more photos of my work (here and here).  It is a real privilege to live in a country where I can visit game parks and see amazing African animals in their natural habitat).  When I am in Ireland I find it more difficult to take pictures – I tend to take more pictures of nature there!

 What are the challenges?


There are more challenges in Zambia to take photos of people – in Malawi, people were very willing to have their pictures taken and I generally like to get consent before I take a photo!  In Zambia, I am stuck in the city so walking around markets is not as easy as it was for me in Malawi where rural life was on my doorstep!  

Sometimes it is difficult to find something to blip or you go through a period when you don’t feel like blipping but its important to keep going because recording those parts of your life are who you are! 

What advice would you offer to blippers thinking of doing what you’re doing?


I felt called at a young age to serve God in Malawi and now Zambia.  I would advise any blippers to follow their dream (preferably not in an aeroplane like this!!!) – I have had really rough times in my 23 years in Africa, I have also had some of the best times of my life. I have learnt so much from people, I have learnt a lot about myself and I thank God for the privilege of serving such a beautiful people and country.  If you have a dream, go for it…and take photos along the way to blip and tell the story of your life! 

What’s the best thing about Blipfoto? 


Of course it’s the fellow blippers!  Much as I don’t comment or respond as much as I used to, I can call many blippers friends.  We encourage each other in good times and bad, get to know people and on the odd occasion even have a chance to meet them in real life!  Its great to see the amazing photographs that some of our blippers take.   I also value blip as a journal of what I have been doing and when!    I intended to do blip for a year and here I am 5 years later and its all because of the friends and encouragement so thanks fellow blippers!
 
Cover photo by Diane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.