Food, Travel and Whimsey

By Fetch

Steamed Treacle Pudding

Steamed puddings are one of my favourite thing about the winter months.
This one in particular was made using vegetable suet instead of a standard sponge mix and has left the pleasantly stuffed sensation that all good Winter puddings should.
I didn't work from a specific recipe (so it may need a bit of development) and the result was quite heavy and stodgy but that was kind of what I was aiming for.

Here's what I used (approximately):

1 duck egg (75g)
self raising flour (80g)
Veg suet (80g)
Caster sugar (50g)
1 Slice of brown bread (crumbed)
Golden Syrup (1dsp) + Extra for the bowl
black treacle (2 tsp)
Mace/nutmeg
Milk

And what I did:

Mixed the dry ingredients together including bread crumbs. Broke the egg directly in to the mix and beat in with a fork then added the Golden Syrup and a couple of teaspoons of treacle and added some milk to loosen the mix. I put a dessert spoonful(ish) of syrup in a small pudding bowl, filled two thirds full and covered with pleated foil and steamed for a bit less than an hour. Frankly I think this may have been a bit longer than necessary.
This should make about two individual and gloriously stodgy puddings.
I had cream with mine mostly because I had some left over from the potato gratin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.