Food, Travel and Whimsey

By Fetch

Steamed Jam Pudding (Vegan and Gluten Free~ish)

I'm not Coeliac or Gluten Intolerant but I have a couple of friends that are and I was/am a chef (I'm a little fuzzy on the definition. Are you still a chef even when you're no longer employed as one?) so I like to make food that everyone can appreciate.

I made two versions of this. One using Pure dairy free spread ( Pictured above) and one using Veg Suet.

Confession time: These are only 'Theoretically' gluten free. My baking powder isn't gluten free and I couldn't find gluten free veg suet so I used Atora which contains wheat flour.

Anyway here's what I used (approximately):

Doves Farm Gluten Free Bread Flour (40g)
Millet Flour (around 3-6 grams) I don't think this was necessary
Golden Caster Sugar (45g) ish
Pure Dairy Free Spread (50g) or Vegetable suet (50g)
Baking Powder (1tsp)
Strawberry jam ( several generous teaspoonfuls)
Water

And what I did:

I mixed the dry ingredients together and mixed in water until it formed a smooth dropping mixture.
I put the jam into a small pudding bowl, placed the pudding mix on top and covered with a sheet of pleated foil which I secured with string.
I then steamed the pudding for 45 minutes (I suspect 30 should be enough).
The resulting pudding was light, fluffy and really quite good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.