Islaynder

By Islaynder

John Rhind A.R.S.A.

[out doing stuff]  ...and on the way I found an entrance to Warriston Cemetery so went in for a look around. 

I'd recently found a sneaky entrance which goes in via a break in the perimeter wall.  Whilst there I got chatting to a nice lady walking her dog and by-and-by we ended up talking about a local monuments.  I was very interested in the story of one of them and have subsequently done a bit of research and set about photographing related places.  

One of the related places I wanted to photograph was the grave of the architect who designed the memorial monument to the person whose monument I was interested in [you still with me?!!].  

Now I was trying to get out of Warriston Cemetery to get to Rosebank Cemetery to find the aforementioned grave.  I think I went in circles but couldn't find a way out.  So I reluctantly headed for the "sneaky" entrance/exit  which was furthest away from where I was.  

And along the way, far off,  I saw a gravestone with the cameo (I don't know how else to describe it - it's my blip) of a man and his wife.  Now I  knew that the grave I was looking for had such a thing so, out of idle curiosity, I had a closer look.  And Lo! It was the one I was looking for!  

I'm not religious - not even superstitious - but that felt a little bit odd.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.