Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

An old house

Today my cousin and I stayed right here in my hometown to visit the Lexington County History Museum.  The museum area is comprised of the original home of John Fox built in 1832 as well as several other structures including  a wooden school house, a small log cabin home, another larger home, outbuildings used in farm life (the smoke house and a blacksmith shop) and slave houses.   One of the slave cabins was attached by a covered porch to the house where the original kitchen had been (it burned).  No cooking was done in the house itself.    This photo shows the big fireplace used to cook in the big pots.  

 We had a wonderful local guide who answered our questions and tested our knowledge of history.  I think he was surprised that I knew so much information until I told him I was local and had grown up learning South Carolina history.   

We had a couple from Connecticut on the tour with us and enjoyed talking with them as they had no knowledge at all of local history about the American Revolutionary war and the War between the States.   We also sent them to eat lunch at a huge family buffet where they could get a big helping of South Carolina BarBQue..slow roasted pork which is cooked over oak coals which flavor the meat in a great way.   Hope they enjoyed it! 

A late lunch for us at a sandwich shop then a stop at the grocery store for the makings of chicken gumbo tomorrow.  We are supposed to get a day of rain so we will use it as a day of rest and cooking.

News on my car was not good at all..major repair work to do and a big bite on the bank account.   But it will be almost like new when they get it fixed so I can drive it for another 20,000 miles!   

Thanks for all the love on my 4 year blip anniversary!    Blip friends are the best!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.