Ryedale Folk Museum

I couldn’t resist this picture of the model village at this museum at Hutton-le-Hole. I last visited here in the early 1990s when I was married to my ex husband and lived in Yorkshire . It’s really developed since then and is excellent.
There were so many things which caught my eye . It’s a large site which is also doing much to conserve plants and wildlife as well as the social history of the area .
I’ve been looking at Marie Hartley and Joan Ingleby’s book about the area which researches the otherwise lost farming practices and traditions of the North York Moors - they did a lot of research at the Museum before publishing their book in 1972 .
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Moorlands-North-East-Yorkshire-Marie-Hartley/dp/046003961X
We thought the visit might take a couple of hours but we were engrossed for nearly 4 hours!
One final meal at the Magpie Cafe followed by watching the stormy sea which was wild . The weather has turned bitterly cold but it’s lovely to get cosy back at the farm .
Have a good weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.