Annandale Water

This is the view from the east side of the Days Inn at Johnstonebridge Services on the M74, close to Lockerbie. Isn't it wonderful?

We woke to a beautiful morning but had to pack and drive home. Not before I took Basil for a circuit of the pond/lake first.

Not impressed with the breakfast bar at the services. I'd paid for breakfast at the Days Inn, but was told that only the fried egg was gluten free. What? Bacon and mushroom and hash browns were off?

The incident reminded me of Little Britain, when David Walliams said, 'The computer says No.'

I suspect the management is playing safe and assuming that the serving staff don't understand the concept of cross contamination.

Found a super cafe on the A66 almost at the top of the Pennines. Fantastic view, good, simple food, clean, friendly and more than anything, Basil friendly. I recommend Cafe Sixty Six near Appleby.

They were collecting money to replace dud bulbs. I queried this. The town needs to refurbish its Christmas lights. I made a small donation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.