I love Alexandria

A wonderful day, off out to the Coptic 4th Century monasteries at Wadi Natroun.

We were so sad to learn that one of the monks had been murdered 3 weeks ago. A reminder that all this security is essential. The army (with tanks) are guarding the area.

The monasteries feel so special and sacred. I loved the relaxed families who were so welcoming, smiling and speaking to welcome us. Marvellous people. I was even asked to do a selfie with some young women when I was in the loo.

The blip is my photo of the mosque by the port caught in the delicious evening light. The extra was taken in the Dayr al-Suryan, one of the monastery complexes. And the second one is the statue of Alexander the Great.

A fascinating and magical country. Pray for peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.