An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Game Boy...

This handsome pheasant was in no hurry to vacate the road to let us drive past, but were were in no hurry either so it was all good.  Eventually he sauntered to the side of the road then stood in the hedgerow pondering his next move.  

Every year, a day comes in the autumn season when I get a funny feeling inside and my head turns from looking longingly over my shoulder at the quickly fading summer months, to eyes front, taking in the new season and accepting it's time to embrace all the joy it has to offer.  

And this year, today was that day.

Some years it happens not long into September and I think the latest it has happened was the middle of one November after we'd had an exceptionally warm autumn.  More often than not it happens sometime in October.  When Alan was at school it usually happened at the end of the October school holidays and that was a definite signal that we were stepping into the final phase of the year.

I can't really describe the feeling other than to say I suddenly feel more focussed and "in the moment" and energised by the thought of the months ahead.  

I get excited at the thought of Hallowe'en, Bonfire night and yes, dare I say it, Christmas! :-)  

So much to look forward to starting next Thursday with afternoon tea at Harvey Nicks in Edinburgh to celebrate my friend Natalie's special birthday that's coming up at the end of the month.  We've also managed to book two nights away with friends at the beginning of December in a lovely lodge in Aberfeldy.  And Christine has offered to work Christmas day with us as she has done for the past two years, and we are all delighted about that.

This festive season will be all the more special as we will be attending the wedding of our friends D & K on 29th December.  I am really looking forward to that.  

So lots big things to look forward to.

But today it was the little things that made me happy...

-  Making soup for friends visiting tomorrow.

-  Buying Alan's Hallowe'en pumpkin.  It's a biggie!  Someone else can carve it!  :-))

-  Getting my Christmas list written - not gifts, just who I have to buy for.

-  Spending time in the glorious countryside, sniffing the unmistakable and       delicious scent of autumn, and feeling my cheeks smart in the cold air.

-  Seeing the delight on Alan's face as he returned from a shopping trip to Dobbies with a 1.8m inflatable Santa that he's insisted be put up in his siting room (see extra)

It's the simple things that bring happiness :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.