To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

New Lease

What a difference a day makes. After having recently displayed symptoms of stage two cabin fever, I made it a point to get out of the house and out of the countryside today. My daughter and I beelined it to Boston for the afternoon where it was a balmy 59F/15C.

Boston is such a wonderfully walkable city, so we spent over two hours just walking around mostly the Boston Common and the Public Garden. People were wearing short-sleeved shirts, kids were playing Frisbee, and the willow trees were beginning to show a touch of color. The walking, fresh(ish) air, and city sights were just what I needed.

I wanted to visit the graveyard where John Hancock, of flamboyant signature fame, is buried and blip his grave for my series, but the cemetery was closed. So I give you instead the beleaguered John Hancock Tower, the tallest building in New England.

Having not lived in the city for nearly five years, I find that tall, shiny buildings impress me much more than they used to. My daughter, on the other hand, was most impressed today with all of the pigeons. This is what happens when you don't get out enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.