Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Pulham Market

Back blipped on 29th October.

After the dire weather all day on Saturday, Sunday was (in between some sharp showers) so brilliantly sunny that we sat outside for lunch.

I spent all day at an orchestral workshop, learning, and attempting to perform, two movements from Holst's Planet Suite.  Many of my fellow players turned in excellent efforts, such that we made a creditable fist of playing Mars and Jupiter on just one day's rehearsal.  I played along for some bits, but mainly just played one note in 4 a lot of the time!  But it was all good fun.  We had an excellent showing of percussion - I've never seen so many tympani in one place - and they were all used (see extra).

The workshop was laid on by the organisers of the Pulham Village Orchestra.  

After eating my packed lunch, I went for a wander around the village green to stretch my legs, and thought I could add to my collection of Norfolk village signs.https://www.blipfoto.com/search/entries?q=%23norfolkvillagesigns  This was unveiled in 1979 - there's a lovely bit of film of what I presume was a local bishop, struggling to remove the Union Flag.  The sign is an excellent mixing of religious and secular aspects of village life.  It represents the local church with a picture of St Mary Magdalene, and the 4 original public houses, The Crown and The Falcon, still going strong, and The Queen's Head and The Duck's Foot- now closed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.