The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Autumn Leaves

Another bleak, rainy day with widespread reports of flooding. I had a few things to do in Calne this afternoon but it wasn't until the twilit walk back that I used my camera. I was pleased to note that the Marden, though quite high and fast flowing, was lower than it had been the previous Wednesday. This time, I used the 'Macro' Scene mode instead of the 'Macro' lens setting (I wonder if there's a difference in how the camera behaves?) and switched to the Magic 'Dramatic' effect filter for this final shot. For comparison, a macro shot of the same leaves without the effect is linked to below.

L.
26.11.2012

Blip #856
Consecutive Blip #069
Day #977

Alternatives:
Tiny Blossom Macro
Brown Leaves Macro

Autumn series
Macro series
Olympus Tough TG-1 series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Primal Scream - Loaded (From Screamadelica Live DVD) (recorded 26 November 2010, Olympia Grand Hall, London)
I have enjoyed Primal Scream's music since the eighties hippy dippy days when they were on Creation, though my favourite albums of theirs are the nineties ones - Give Out But Don't Give Up, Vanishing Point and, best of all, Screamadelica.
Primal Scream asked Andrew Weatherall to remix I'm Losing More Than I'll Ever Have, from their second album. It was his first visit to a recording studio and Loaded was the result. It features a drum loop from an Italian bootleg mix of Edie Brickell's What I Am; The Emotions' I Don't Want to Lose Your Love; and lines spoken by Peter Fonda's character in the 1966 movie The Wild Angels:

Just what is it that you want to do?

We wanna be free
We wanna be free to do what we wanna do
And we wanna get loaded
And we wanna have a good time
That's what we're gonna do
Away baby let's go
We're gonna have a good time
We're gonna have a party


It additionally samples the band's vocalist Bobby Gillespie singing a line from Robert Johnson's Terraplane Blues and Andie MacDowell saying "That's beautiful... That's really beautiful" in the film Sex, Lies, And Videotape.
Loaded subsequently featured in their live act, a relatively rare example of a band recreating live a remix that was made by a third party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.