La vida de Annie

By Annie

Pumpkin.

Both daughters, grandson and I had a pumpkin carving competition today.
The boy, being only 5, had to win by law of course. Mine, being the first I have done in my very long life, was deliberately simple to not overtax my creativity and shaky hands, but #2D, pictured, made the one I liked best, with lots of complicated detail. The end result is in Extras.
The most important event of the day, for which I was not allowed to take pictures, was #2S's performance in the Open Mic regional final in the Liner hotel in Liverpool. We had to sit through 20 other performances before it was his turn, and my head was throbbing by then with the overamplified sound system; there were a lot of talented young people taking part, with unexpectedly mature voices, and a couple of real stinkers (probably due to nerves). I can report that he turned in a professional and passionate performance with not a single duff note, and was one of those chosen to go on to the National Final next month. Proud Mum moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.