La vida de Annie

By Annie

Cinema.

When you get up and find the visiting family have turned the front room into a cinema, complete with masses of popcorn and a scary film. At least this way you can keep your PJs on.
Didn't go out at all today as the weather is turning increasingly Arctic: #2D, who now lives in Yorkshire, has adopted the local resilient view that it is "brisk", and doesn't merit a coat just yet.
I count my lucky stars that I have missed a terrific storm in Menorca, involving torrential rain, some hail, extreme gales and a tornado which ripped through the centre of the island and tossed aside huge high-voltage pylons, cutting all power to most of the island. Engineers and military troops have been brought in from the mainland to try to begin repairs, and 70 generators shipped in to keep some power in hospitals and schools. Food and fuel are not readily available (no power for shops and pumps), and fresh water cannot always be had as it often depends on being pumped in, so I know I would be freaking out if I were still there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.