Islaynder

By Islaynder

Yeoman Bank

This morning I noticed that the Dockwise White Marlin had left the estuary so had a look to see where she was - somewhere in the North Sea en route to the port of Mersin in Turkey.   I also noticed that the Yeoman Bank was in the docks.  I've only ever seen the Yeoman ships passing offshore from Islay so was keen to have a closer look.  By the time I got down to the docks (or Asda car park as it provides the closest view of where the ship was berthed) she had  already unloaded and was being manoeuvred toward the lock.  So I headed round to the lock to get a photo there.  I went into an area that is heavily fenced off - derelict land but is used by dog-walkers.  Got a few good shots and then, as I was heading out to the old abandoned lighthouse (this is beginning to sound like a Scooby-doo plot!) a barking dog came running at me through the scrub.  I couldn't immediately determine the size of the dog but I stood my ground and what emerged was a noisy chihuahua!  It looked a lot like A's late Sammy so I made an effort to make friends!   I walked on and met it's owner and her two other chihuahuas.  We got talking about chihuahuas. Her chihuahuas soon accepted me so it was nice to play with some chihuahuas.  We all parted but the ship was by now out of the lock and the sunshine had gone.   So Blip is the ship just leaving the berth and a pair of JCBs managing the offloaded aggregate - most of which I suspect is going into the concrete for The Turd [St James].

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.