Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

GMT

My brain hasn't quite adjusted to GMT yet and I'm still waking up about an hour earlier than usual. So I was out and about along the Canal relatively early today.

Took the bus shortly after 10am along to Wyndford Lock, between Dullatur and Craigmarloch, and spent the next few hours wandering along the towpath and photographing the views between my start-point and the Falkirk Wheel.

It was a cold and misty start, with the mist slow to burn off. When it did, the remaining colours of autumn were still quite spectacular. Despite the sunny overhead conditions, the temperatures remained low throughout the day and I was glad to be wearing hat and gloves in addition to several other layers of clothing.

It was back in mid-August that I had a notion to walk the length of the Forth and Clyde Canal, a distance of only about 35 miles, and it was always my intention to do it in relatively short stages over a period of time. However, having reached the Falkirk Wheel, it could be that my next stretch of the Canal will see me complete that 'quest'. Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.