Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

#bronzeshoesinstallation

There are so many upsetting issues before us….it's overwhelming.... here is one Portland artist’s poignant response to one of them…the children separated from their families at the Mexican border,.  which I’ll let blipper Kendall explain more eloquently than I could…HERE

I’m afraid the shoes will get taken in many places like they were in Portland but I’ve hung one set on the fence near the bus stop by our neighborhood elementary school and playfield, seen in background.    And the other (extra) in front of where I live in Seattle—it’s a “trail” that goes around Lake Union.   For now.

The inscription says “These bronze shoes represent the children separated by I.C.E.  They serve as a reminder to all of us, and to their families, that they are precious and we will not forget them.”  Artist Aimee Sitarz  intends to continue making these and installing them in public spaces “until I.C.E. is abolished.” .  


Let me know if anyone else in the USA would like to install some..I can connect you.

Edit. For more background and excellent journal photos of how it went in Portland, please see Kendall’s blip today with the link to her Medium post page ... I suppose I could link that but this will get you there.... it’s an important project.!https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2503683199687721753

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.