Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Suited and literally booted

So the big interview arrived this morning, I left early giving myself plenty of time to get there before my interview time. Mother Nature had other plans though and due to flooding on other roads, it meant the road I was travelling on was far busier than normal, it took me an hour to go the last mile. Luckily one of the interviewers was also caught in it, so it meant we were late starting.

The interview went well although I did struggle a bit on some specific environmental legislation, but as it's not something I come across in my normal day to day job I'm not bothered, when I need the knowledge I'll swot up on it. The interview was your typical good cop / bad cop set up and the usual standard interview questions, so throw a few buzzwords in to tick a few boxes and who knows. Truth be known I think the job has already been sewn up for someone, so I don't think I'll be getting an offer and won't know until my last week before Christmas.

In the other job I got a phone call today saying that I'm not required for a second interview. My first interview I was told I'd be going forward, and last week that was confirmed and I was just waiting to hear when the date would be. How does that work then to get told I'm not required? Decidedly cheesed off with it and feeling sorry for myself.

I know it's selfish and I'm lucky that I've got a job when so many other people are desperate for a job. I'll get over it and maybe all this I'm going through is actually a message to say that times up, and I need to move on to do something different. So if you know of a job where I can make a real difference to people's lives, please let me know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.