Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Pumpkin dogs and an excuse

Happy Halloween blipmates from Hamish and Poppy.  Do you notice that I carved a Golden Retriever pumpkin this year.  It is out on the front verandah but obviously I put it out too late tonight as I haven't had one trick or treater!

My day started off with the hose fitting coming off spraying water all over me when I was hosing the garden this morning before work.   I then stepped backward and trod in some er hmm that one of the hounds had left.  At least the phone is still working.

My mum is turning a certain age next week.  She would kill me if I broadcast her age but suffice it to say it is an "O" birthday and a considerable achievement!  We are having a family get together on Sunday because that is what she wanted.  No party, no dinner out - just a family gathering.   She says she will have a party when she turns 100.   I have organised who is doing what but I thought she needed a special cake.  I rang up a local cake supplier and was quoted for a 5 " layer cake with three roses on top, fondant icing and pattern on the sides and a happy birthday on the bottom $176.  Yes, you read that correctly.  I lied and said I would get back to them but needed to check with other family members.  I didn't have enough nous to tell them the 2 minutes silence was when I had fainted when I heard the price and to forget it.  AUD$176 = US$124 = £98 = CA$163 = CHF125 = €110 = 15,142 ISK = 8,123 RUB.  Ridiculous in anyones money.  As a consequence I have done a little search on cake design, will make a lemon drizzle cake, ice in lemon butter icing and decorate the top in a mass of roses and flowers.  Hence tonight I missed a lovely sunset for Bobs wide challenge while I was making roses.  I have done about 16 and only have about another 16 or so flowers to do.  Don't worry, I will blip it when it is done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.