Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Bradgate Park (from Old John Tower)

I had a fantastic time this morning walking over Bradgate Park.  I managed to arrive before sunrise (it only required me to be up at 5 am!) and was in position by Old John Tower looking across to the east as the sun rose (see extra).  

It was a stunningly frosty and clear morning.  I was walking in amongst the herds of fallow and red deer that roam freely across the park.  The rut has pretty much ended and the dominant males (There appear to be two red stags that have come out victorious) were leading their respective groups in different parts of the park.  It was less easy to discern the dominant bucks amongst the fallow deer and there were many more smaller groups around, some with 3 or 4 bucks within each group (maybe they aren't as ferocious in their challenges).  I did notice one fallow buck with a bloody ear, assumed to be because of the fighting.

The main image was in the golden hour, looking from the tower, towards Leicester across the park.

After I left I enjoyed a good hour rummaging through the Rab Clothing Outlet Store at Alfreton.  It's always worth a visit if you're in the vicinity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.