Taking flight.....

.....down by the estuary this morning.

By golly it was cold! I had to wear my gloves and jacket. Little waves rippled along the estuary as a bitter wind picked up on an incoming tide. Quite a few adult birds feeding and preening while youngsters were running in all directions, they were so quick! 

There were godwits, banded dotterels, terns, white herons and white-faced herons, gulls of various kinds, black swans and one lonely white swan, spotted shags and for a change not many ducks.

I was fortunate to be in the company of mpp26, M is so knowledgeable with bird photography and takes some amazing shots, thanks M for a wonderful morning.

And for the first time ever......I did only one genre of photography which was solely birds, no landscapes just birds.....and I'm really pleased with what I came home with - there's some in extra's....which are starting to run out, wish we could have more. A godwit with a tiny fish and a very young banded dotterel just having a breather before running off again, couldn't believe how quick they run and so cute!

Have a great weekend everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.