Roses.....

....a beautiful spring day with the first roses picked from my garden, Margaret Merril and Just Joey.

It was calm this morning, peaceful as the sun broke through the fog with birds twittering, dew drops glistening as they hung from leaves, so pretty and tranquil especially after last night. 

My heart was in my mouth last night as a baby starling left the nest and was enjoying hopping round the fence line amongst the undergrowth and chirping with excitement. One of the neighbour's cat was on the prowl which I quickly scurried away and all was well for a short while. Then all hell broke loose, parents squawking, another of the neighbour's  cat came running full speed from under the trees with the fledgling in it's mouth! The parents were flying low full speed just above the cat and squawking madly, hubby rushed out and growled while I didn't want to look - it was horrible! The cat dropped the fledgling and scampered over the fence, the parents carried on squawking while other cats continued to prowl, by this time I had the water gun ready! That lucky fledgling survived the night and is still hopping around but he's not out of the woods yet. Nature eh - that's the way it goes.

I've decided to enter this shot in the Still Life challenge run by Nickimags888, still life is not my strong point but thought I'd give it a go, thanks Nicki  for hosting :)

Happy Thursday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.