Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

A mixture

Well, I got to jury duty 20 minutes late but no matter. Missed the bus. Also missed the best (maybe) blipportunity. An attractive young woman with long hair and very big boots carrying a colorful skateboard on her pack sat next to me and I saw she was looking at her jury summons so I said I was headed there too - she smiled and said oh so you are late too! We got off and she lit up a cigarette and got on her board to cross the street to the courthouse and I just didn't have the nerve to ask for a photo of this possible juror. But....... we were late...
I found a seat in the juror assembly room and was all prepared to sit and not talk to a soul but catch up on so many things when I heard someone call my name. What? Not someone I know! Sigh, it was a friend from the past who conveniently pointed to the only other empty seat in the room. Next to her. Very nice, but not what I planned. :-)
100 of us were picked to answer a questionnaire for the lawyers to look over- this is a sexual assault case of some sort that will last into the week of dec 17!!!!!! Eek. As much as I think this process is fascinating, that is not what I had in mind for this time of year for that long. Well, they then let us 100 ( out of maybe300?) go til tomorrow am - there was time for me to hop on the bus and walk into our UW class at 11:30, amazing H who thot he wouldn't see me til late. So we'll see.
Jurors are picked from not only registered voters but also anyone with a WA drivers license or a WA state ID. Humm.
So the bottom line is I didn't get as much done as I wanted and now we have to go get Fiona from school, but I really wanted to do a blip before 10 pm. So I will hopefully get a chance tomorrow to tell more about our judicial system which does work I think-if very slowly!
This blip is on the street next to the courthouse-new, old and about to be built under a blue blue sky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.