Paladian

By Paladian

Epiphyllum - but Orchid Cactus sounds better

Not a macro today.

Yesterday when I looked, these flowers were buds, and I thought they were going to be boring old orange again. But no, this morning and they are stunning gorgeous white blooms, with orangey red petals on the outside. I took this superly close-up with the wide angle lens, just for a bit of variety.

Looks a lot creamier in LARGE

The weather is much nicer today - a fairly stiff breeze which has blown all the humidity away. But you can expect an early blip from me tomorrow - it's going to be over 37 degrees C, and I shall be sunbathing underneath the nearest air-conditioner.

How did we manage back in the 60s, I ask myself. One of the first jobs I had in Adelaide was in an office in the city - it was in an old building, with a tin roof, and no air-conditioning. We still wore stockings or tights in those days, and I can remember very clearly older women going into the city to do the "shopping" wearing hats and gloves. Unbelievable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.